Simplicity Overseas

tumblr_mj08bh1i4B1roj33lo1_500

I’ve carried around my high school yearbooks to four different continents. I never have enough closet space for my shoes. And, my inbox is at 1655 (yes, I’m that person).

I don’t pretend to have simplicity in the bag. In fact, it is a conscious practice. When I am home in the U.S. for a visit, I have to stop my shopping cart before checkout and ask myself: do I need this? Having baggage weight limitations helps with this.

I suppose the chosen ease of life has developed from years living overseas. For the past ten years, my husband and I have worked as international teachers in Colombia, Tunisia, Korea, and now, Laos. Among many benefits of this profession like travel opportunities, there are elements that, to us, are freeing.

Read the rest of this guest post on Be More With Less.

{image credit}

Please share your thoughts

