Gratitude: do it; it’s good for you

Do you think this is just another day in your life? It’s not just another day. It’s the one day that is given to you. Today. It’s given to you. It’s a gift. It’s the only gift that you have right now and the only appropriate response is gratefulness. ~Brother David Steindl-Rast

Yesterday morning Craig replayed a TEDxSF – Louie Schwartzberg on Gratitude. In the middle of maneuvering open tabs on my computer, I stopped.

Gratitude. It’s a word shared loosely. Said often. Scribbled as a mantra on a wall. How many times have we heard our parents/mentors begin a sentence with…”Just be grateful that…”? It hangs at times as a reminder of obligation, much like needing to exercise or floss your teeth. Often, it is an effort, a conscious practice.

But, good things normally are.

Sitting on the balcony of our Chiang Mai hotel, it is day 3 since we left home to start the journey to Laos. It is overcast and breezy. At the back of the building, our view is of the trees and tin rooftops, the golden pointed peaks of Buddhist wats against rounded hills.

I am grateful for this and for…

…our health and pain-free living

…the love of family and friends who support even when it hurts

…opportunity, courage, and trust.

And you? What is your “thank you” for the day? 

8 comments
  1. It is Canadan Thanksgiving today and my family does not live in the same city as me so I thought the weekend would pass like every other. Today I am grateful for good friends, the kind that invite you over for dinner when they know you have no where to go.

  2. christinemartindesign said:

    oh, I love that. Hope you enjoy the company and food.

  3. Rick said:

    Sadie and Thalia. Glad you guys made it safely. Enjoy!

  4. Yup…you’ve got two gems there. Thanks for chiming in, Rick. Miss you guys.

  5. Marcela Avila said:

    a friend like you…..i am so proud of you and grateful to continue to be in your life…..suerte amiga!

  6. thank you, Marcy. means so much to me to have support from long-time friends like you. un beso.

  7. Wow Christine,

    My thank-you-of-the-day is to you, for helping me spread my message through your blog post. Hearing from people who have been affected by my work is one of my favorite parts of my job. Please feel free to follow me on Twitter at @louiefilms and on Facebook at facebook.com/louiefilms to find out about my current and future projects. And thanks again for your post!

    With Gratitude,
    Louie Schwartzberg

  8. Thank you for the kind words, Louie! What an honor to have you participate in this blog. It is through inspirations like you work that I am motivated to write and practice positive perspective in my life. I will certainly follow your future projects.

Please share your thoughts

