On Dad’s Day: 5 life lessons from my pops

“In 100 years, we’ll all be bald.”

This is one of my dad’s sayings which basically taps into impermanence and how senseless it is to worry. It’s a silly expression, and a morbid one at that as I’d imagine everyone I know not only bald, but dead and buried. But, when there are times I’m stressing out about something small or out of my control, I think of this expression.

With Father’s Day approaching, I wanted to honor my pops by sharing five things I’ve learned from him.

1.Have a sense of humor: Living with three women (mom, sister, and me), my dad had no real choice but to maintain a sense of humor. He often cracks himself up with  nonsensical comments and loves a good laugh with anyone. He hasn’t had the easiest life. A stroke at the young age of 16 left him with a disability that has challenged him everyday since. Regardless of the emotional and physical strains, my dad has a great sense of humor. When I’m going through a rough time, I try to tap into something funny; humor offers another perspective and the endorphins are an instant pick up.

2.Be thoughtful: I remember running to the door as the key clicked the lock open when my dad came home from work. He’d reach into his coat pocket and pull out a strawberry candy for each of us. My dad also has a way with words. He loves them and uses them to express his love for us…poems to my mom; emails to us while in college. It’s the little gestures that make a difference to someone else.

3.Hug often: My dad is affectionate. He holds hands, gives sloppy kisses and hugs often. As a teenager, it could sometimes be too much. Now, I appreciate a good hug. It’s a few seconds of support and love.

4.Be committed: There are few marriages I’ve seen last as long as my parents’. Going onto my 6th year anniversary with my husband, I can truly appreciate the 38 years of compromise, communication, and commitment they’ve experienced. As a parent, my pops was equally there for us; emotionally, physically, and financially.

5.Do your best: For many years, my dad worked two jobs to provide for us all. He would come home late from teaching night school citizenship & ESL classes after being in the office at CalTrans. On days off, he spent time with us. He’s not a perfect man, but he always did his best.

For these lessons, I appreciate my father today and everyday.

What are some lessons you learned from your dad? Your comments are encouraged, valued and welcome.

{image credit: original of my dad in Madrid a long time ago}

2 comments
  1. Holly said:

    This is such a nice post!! Heart-warming, indeed, and those are great lessons to learn. My dad has taught me many things, but the most important is to not let fear affect your life.

    yay for dads ;)

  2. That’s a great lesson, Holly. Obviously, you’re living by it. :)

Please share your thoughts

