Being MAC shade: Diva

I’ve just learned a lesson:

Life is like MAC lipstick colors.

There are the shades that you can wear daily; that make you feel presentable. Safe. They are sensible enough for a work meeting or picking up groceries. They say:

Hello, nice to meet you. I am smart and committed. I’d make an excellent wife and can juggle a career, kids, and home-making easily.

These have names like A Perfect Day, Cherish, Midimauve, and High Tea. I own a few of these. There’s nothing wrong with this.

And then…then there are the shades that you pull out for special occasions. The ones you may even still have in the box, it’s so rare you use them. They are perfectly shaped, making it easy to apply. These are the show stoppers…eye catchers. They shout (or whisper, depending on the occasion):

Here I am. I can have fun and am incredibly interesting. I’m unafraid of being me, making mistakes, or trying new things.

With names such as The Amp, Odyssey, Capricious, and Hot Tahiti, these are the party shades.

A few weeks back I purchased one after the magazine-faced MAC lady convinced me that it suited me; made my eyes “pop.”

So, I strutted out of the store with a new case of Diva.

It’s red. It’s bold. It makes me feel like this…

Now, what does this have to do with life?

Recently, I’ve been feeling paralyzed with uncertainty.

UNCERTAIN ME: What do I do now that I’m done with my interior design course? Should I have a design blog? What will that look like? Do I want to work for a design firm? Do I want to venture out on my own? What can I offer that is special? How will I incorporate design into life in Laos? I feel so behind the game. Will I be good at this?

“Try sh*t out…for the fun of it!”

This is what my life coach encouraged during a session. She proceeded to remind me of a few things.

1. Be soft with yourself. This is all new. You can’t go from being a professional teacher to a professional designer just.like.that.
2. You got get to try different things when you start a new career. Yes, learning is scary but it’s exciting too.
3. You’ve done the safe thing already. You can sit and keep doing the things you know. OR you can try things out for the fun of it. This is the time you get to experiment.

“Like a new nail polish or that new lipstick shade, you get to try things out! What would the Diva in you do? Think of the divas we know: Lady Gaga, Madonna, Beyonce. They try sh*t out. They transform and experiment and create.”

Wow. This is fresh perspective. I have a choice. I can either ho-hum about not knowing what to do or I can just do!

Does this mean I’ll be pulling out my flashy Diva shade all the time now? Probably not. (It’s hard to take off and it stains my coffee cup, which I hate).

But, I’ve no problem blending shades; being clever yet courageous, mindful yet enthusiastic.

So, what do I do now? Guess I look at life in the eye and well,…

…pucker up.

(Note: the lips above are not Diva, nor are they mine, sadly.)

                                                                                                    photo credit

2 comments
  1. Irene Morton said:

    A very intuitive analogy of life! Try things out, some will work, others won’t but that’s probably is not any different than what we experience in everyday life, but because we are familiar and maybe more comfortable, we don’t seem to notice, at least not as much.

    Changing careers, behaviours, lifestyle or whatever we choose to change can be like crossing a river, we don’t have to dive in to get across, there are other ways. The key is to remember is that this is a process and you are not alone!

  2. Thanks, Irene. Great reminders.

Please share your thoughts

